Branches

Light and Branches (© F. P. Dorchak, Dec 11, 2016)

Light and Branches (© F. P. Dorchak, Dec 11, 2016)

When I used to work at another job outside of town, I used to drive by this one tree that sat up on a slight rise from the road.  During the winter months, when its branches were bare, it used to cut quite the intense silhouette against the brightening eastern horizon, and I’d always thought I’d some day take a picture of that incredible silhouette.

Well, I haven’t yet…but it got me interested in tree branches…and their silhouettes.

And now, I have a Nikon D3400 digital single lens reflex (DSLR), and am getting back into my days of amateur photography! The other day I found myself taken by similar branches, and thought—grab the camera!—so I did. Here are some of the better images I managed to capture. I’m still learning my way around this camera, so I hope to get some even neater shots in the future! These were all captured on automatic (non-flash) mode, with the Nikon, on December 11, 2016, using an AF-P Nikkor 70-300mm lens. I used Coral PaintShop Pro X7 to compress all images. Click images to expand!

About fpdorchak

Paranormal fiction author.
This entry was posted in Art, Fun, Leisure, Nature, Photography, To Be Human and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Branches

  1. That’s exactly the way I feel about photographing interesting tree shapes, Frank. I especially like small scraggly trees on rocky slopes and huge old trees standing in the middle of nowhere.

  2. Karen Lin says:

    I like natural ditches and gullies. My grandma couldn’t resist photos of hay stacks. And that was the day of expensive film!

    • fpdorchak says:

      Neat! Interesting, Karen! Among other things, I love taking shots of abandoned buildings…old homes in the middle of nowhere. Desolation. Desolation fascinates me. I love taking shots of perspectives we don’t normally deal with…you’ll have to show me your some of your ditches! Can’t say as I’ve ever seen much of those kinds of shots!

  3. Pingback: Bird Watching | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  4. Pingback: Photography | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  5. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  6. Pingback: Happy Monday! | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  7. Pingback: White Rock – Garden of the Gods – and Time | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  8. Pingback: Bobcat! | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  9. Pingback: My First Nikon Camera Class | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  10. Pingback: Night Driving | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  11. Pingback: Frozen Branches | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  12. Pingback: Wind and Snow | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  13. Pingback: The WYO Road Trip | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

Leave a Reply

