On Writing That Next Work

Crime writer Lee Child has said that nothing is more exciting than the idea for that next book. You see all the possibilities! They beckon! Schmooze with What-ifs! Then, as we write, all the possibilities get narrowed down into actualities. Quickly, all those possibilities…What-ifs…are no longer what it could be…but are now…simply what is.

I have thought about this a lot…tried to put it into words.

This nails it.

About fpdorchak

Paranormal fiction author.
This entry was posted in Short Story, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Writing That Next Work

  1. Wendy Brydge says:

    This is how I feel when I start a new painting too!

  2. Karen Lin says:

    Of 12 screenplays I’ve written, it was the one I was most excited and passionate about – after the ah ha – that came out of me quickest (2 weeks) and is, in my opinion, the best. So yes…the was well said. I made the mistake recently of telling my very cool idea for a script to Wen and Max, and Max analyzed it with Millenial eyes and deflated my creativity ballooon. I should have just written it. When my 1st drafts are done and I describe them to Wen, he usually is my harshest critic, not that he’s always wrong. It just always stings.

    • fpdorchak says:

      I don’t try to talk much about any project I’m looking to start. For me…it seems to take…or *divert*…some of its energy. It’s magic. Additionally, I don’t always know much about them until I get underway (…so far…I’m an organic writer…). So, my advice to you, Karen—is don’t talk to anyone about any specifics to anything you’re about to work on! Let the magic live inside you for a bit longer until you’re ready to create…then just CREATE. You might also want to let your family know to NOT critique/criticize your efforts IF you [continue to] tell them about them. Coach them to just…listen. :-]

      • Karen Lin says:

        Yes. Good advice. Because not only can it deflate, I have a hard time NOT taking the comments with as much weight as my original thoughts. Guess it’s a mix of open-mindedness and creative insecurity. I’ve known about this issue for a long time…in part I continue doing it because Wen’s pretty intuitive and Max is wise beyind his years yet with his fingers on the Millenial pulse (audience). They are, more than not, correct. To tell someone without seeking affirmation or critique is at least a release valve for all the pent up energy. And it helps me justify my writing time (i.e. unpaid) if people know I’m working on a worthy project (i.e. might someday sell). So it’s a catch 22. I value and use their great feedback, shortening the second draft work. It also let’s me brainstorm great subplots etc… but telling it does take some of the magic away.

        • fpdorchak says:

          There are a lot of similar “Catch-22s” out there…but we can’t let them hurt us, as you know. All we can do…is what we do, Karen! :-] Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

