Vermont Vacation 2017 – Covered Bridges

Silk Road Bridge (© F. P. Dorchak, August 9, 2017)

Silk Road Bridge (© F. P. Dorchak, August 9, 2017)

After my wife and I had checked out the Bennington Battle Monument, we checked out the three covered bridges nearby. There was a covered bridges museum we’d stopped by, but it closed in half an hour and we were told there was so much in there it would take far longer than 30 minutes to get through it all. They said we could come back the next day, but much like the Griswolds, in Vacation, we were on a mission to see a Pile of Mud rather than my cousin Eddie, and wouldn’t have time to come back the next day. Okay, I don’t have a cousin Eddie, and there was no Pile of Mud to see (but had there been, yes, I’d have wanted to see it, Vermont mud you know…).

Earlier bridges were made of wood, but they only lasted 10 – 20 years. Covering them extended their lives to about 80 years. And being covered these bridges now offered refuge in times of storms and other inclement weather. They not only protected people, but also helped keep horses from shying away from water.

I’ve always loved their look and architecture, and it had been so long since I’d seen any “in person” (if I ever did…my childhood memories are a leetle fuzzy on these…) so I had to see these! So, we drove through them all and I took a few shots of them.

The three bridges we visited were:

  • Silk Road Bridge
  • Paper Mill Bridge
  • Henry Bridge

Related Posts

About fpdorchak

Paranormal fiction author.
This entry was posted in Comedy, Fun, Leisure, Photography, To Be Human, Vacation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vermont Vacation 2017 – Covered Bridges

  1. Karen Lin says:

    I love old wooden bridges. Especially the covered bridges. But I have to admit I am a little more nervous going over them.

Leave a Reply

