I’m Surprisingly Okay

I couldn’t leave my last post as it was. After having had the insulting, exhausted, mixed feelings of being ignored by New York City Publishing, I came back the next day, well, rather exited! Thank you to all who left comments here and on Facebook. I greatly appreciate your support, I sincerely do.

As I was writing up panel content for the upcoming COSine 2024 this weekend (and before I received my agent’s words), I’d written about how I’d missed some of my “Halcyon Days” as that writer in my 20s. Where I just wrote what I wrote and publishing be damned.

Well, I seem to be kinda back in the came position. I can now write without worrying about how Publishing is going to chew me up and spit me out. And I like that. I can continue to do what I’ve been doing: publishing what I like to write and not worrying about fitting my work into their limited genre holes. Create my own covers–well get a cover artist (my most talented friend, Lon Kirschner) to do that–but I get to approve or disprove. If no one buys what I write, I also discovered the next day, so what? I really love the stories I write or I wouldn’t pub them. It is what it is, and I have to roll with it, and now can put out two more books in a more reasonable time than two to four years.

And, as I’ve said, I’m an eternal optimist.

So, yes, I’m psyched. I’m okay. Throat punches or no.

Previous Related Posts

About fpdorchak

Speculative and paranormal fiction author. Please check out my website: https://www.fpdorchak.com/. Thank you for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Art, Books, Short Story, To Be Human, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Surprisingly Okay

  1. kieldersteve says:

    So glad you decided to follow up. Keep out of the pigeon holes and stay easy following your own Original path.

  2. Karen A Lin says:

    Though the world tries to tell us that being driven and goal oriented and never satisfied is a good thing. I think there is something to be said for contentment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.