Fear

From whence comes fear?

Darkness?

Evil?

Ourselves?

I suppose there must be all sorts of “papers” written about the subject, but this image came to me one fine day, years and years ago, so I wrote it up.

This is my second publicly published work of fiction. It was published in Tyro #16, on January 6, 1989.

 

Fear

© F. P. Dorchak, 1989

 

It was the Devil’s own pitch

A darkness utterly corrupt and vile.

 

I couldn’t see a thing, couldn’t hear a thing

The silence absolute—except of that internal ringing sound.

 

I turned, slowly.

The only way I could know this

Was by the steps my feet made over each other.

 

That’s when I came face to face with it—

Teeth ripping my face apart.

 

Related Posts

 

About fpdorchak

Speculative and paranormal fiction author. Please check out my website: https://www.fpdorchak.com/. Thank you for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Short Story, Spooky, To Be Human, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fear

  1. Karen Lin says:

    Like this initially enigmatic line: steps my feet made over each other.

    deliciously super creepy..

  2. Paul says:

    Short and creepy, Frank! The last two lines made me think of some of the great jump scares in “Alien.”

    To quote from Rod Serling: “Fear, of course, is extremely relative. It depends on who can look down and who must look up. It depends on other vagaries, like the time, the mood, the darkness. But it’s been said before, with great validity, that the worst thing there is to fear is fear itself.”

  3. Pingback: Tail Gunner | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  4. Pingback: Spirit of Hope | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  5. Pingback: The Ballad of fReD BeAn | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  6. Pingback: Brains | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  7. Pingback: St. Vincent | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  8. Pingback: Entombed…Resurrection…Unbound…. | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  9. Pingback: Etched in Stone | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  10. Pingback: Bone and Stone | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  11. Pingback: Clowns | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  12. Pingback: Garden of the Gods | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  13. Pingback: The Girl Who Chased Gargoyles | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  14. Pingback: Am I Having Too Much Fun? | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  15. Pingback: Snow Paper | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  16. Pingback: Crypt of Vampyres | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  17. Pingback: Nightborders | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  18. Pingback: Red Hands | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  19. Pingback: Short Story Listing | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.