Am I Having Too Much Fun?

Since November 2015, I’ve been going over all the short stories I’ve written (and have an accounting of). I’ve been posting them on my blog site, and currently have auto-posts every Friday out until August 19, 2016. And I still have a handful left that I think are “blog worthy.” Some are definitely blog worthy, but are too long (so I won’t post those, since I already have enough on my site that are already pushing the limits for “comfortable” blog reading; they’ll be in the short story collection I’m putting together, however). But I’ve been having so much fun doing this that I no longer have (or make) the time to post other non-short story-related posts!

So, I thought, I’d make some time!

My stories run the gamut…from my current “paranormal/metaphysical fiction” M.O., to fantasy, to back into the deep dark past of straight-on, unflinching horror-fiction writing. And one or two of them are downright vile. And one of these non-horror stories is so damned powerful to me that I can’t help but get emotional every time (and I mean every time…) I read it…but it’s too close to real life, and people and situations in it are too identifiable, so I can’t release it…but also have to admit that of the 21 pages, only four of them had been written in 1997 (and those four pages still got me emotional!); I’d written the other 17 a couple weeks ago…the story still that fresh in my mind of what I’d wanted to do. I feel it’s arguably the best short story I’ve ever written. I’ve written other shorts that are never going to see the light (or dark) of day for various reasons. In any event, they all show where my head was at and what I’d done. They all helped shaped me into the writer that I am today. And I think that’s cool.

I’m also glad that not everything I’ve ever written has been published!

And the “forgetting more than I ever knew” part? Yeah, I don’t remember having written a lot of these…but there it is, my header info with my contact information at the time, and dates. Yup, that’s me

But a different me.

I can comfortably say that I am no longer the person who wrote those stories…yet that person is definitely still a part of me. And we’re both enjoying this! I think we’re both amused with the other. Fascinated. Well, I know I am!

So, if some of these stories piss you off, get you excited, make you think…than I have truly done my job. My big goal now…is to try to get you to cry….

In doing this I’ve really seen how much my writing has changed. It’s like when Steven Spielberg said that had he written Close Encounters of the Third Kind “now” he would not have written the Roy Neary character to go off with the aliens, because he did not have children when he wrote it. I’m finding that my huge interest in things like UFOs and aliens and monsters and the like is waning for more stories about the Human Condition. As gnarly and explicit as Voice is, that is one of my favorite stories because it speaks so much to aspects of the Human Condition. I mean, I’ve tried to do this with all my work to one degree or the other, but in Voice it’s so visceral. I think The Uninvited is also another “visceral” read. I’ve thought about this a lot over the years, but my migration away from straight horror (which can also be said to “speaking to the Human Condition”) was also largely motivated by this same feeling. I didn’t always admit it, but I have and always wanted to make people emote…to cry, rage, or just plan feel something other than the horror-related emotions of fear and, well, horror (not that there’s anything wrong with that…). I’ve always wanted to be that “literary writer” where I could dig a little deeper with words and emotional and conditional explorations while still telling a compelling story.

In short (pardon the pun), I’m finding I’ve grown more concerned with people rather than machinery, monstrous attacks, and conspiracies.

But, that doesn’t mean I won’t still write the occasional horror story…if the story grabs me enough! And nearly all of my work will have elements of the paranormal, the metaphysical, the supernatural. I just like writing about that kind of stuff.

And on this site, yes, I am cleaning them up some, but I am intentionally trying to keep them in as close a “form” as when I wrote them. When I compile the better ones into my book-form collection, I will be going over them with as fine-toothed a comb as possible…yet will keep them in the era in which they were created, i.e., I won’t update for cell phones and other currencies and the like. If written in the 1980s, the story itself will not be updated to 2017.

So.

I hope you don’t mind that I’m putting all this stuff out there! I know they’re not for everybody, but I think there’s something for everyone. These stories show the various shades of my ability (or lack thereof to any critics out there who feel Indies just aren’t good enough for traditional platforms…)…and the expansiveness of what I chose to write about. If this is what I am…there are certainly others out there just like me…or I’m just like them

Because as different as we all are…we’re also very much the same.

And, damn it, I’m just having fun!

Related Articles

 

About fpdorchak

Speculative and paranormal fiction author. Please check out my website: https://www.fpdorchak.com/. Thank you for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Fun, Leisure, Metaphysical, Reincarnation, Short Story, Space, Spooky, To Be Human, UFOs, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Am I Having Too Much Fun?

  1. Karen Lin says:

    Tease! That best short story… will it be in your book? Will you, between now and then, post little teases about the stories? Great plan, if so…maybe questions for us to contemplate that you explore and tease as addressed by a story in the book.

    • fpdorchak says:

      Don’t think that one can be…for a variety of reasons. But for the other stories I certainly could do that! Good idea! I think there is MUCH food for thought for that collection….

  2. Wendy Brydge says:

    Frank, when a blog ceases to be “fun” for the owner, it’s time for him/her to stop blogging. So there’s no such thing as having too much fun with it!

    • fpdorchak says:

      Ha, thanks, Wendy! It’s been pretty time consuming but worth it! Hard to keep up on everyone else’s blogs, though! I’m really looking forward to the book collection!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. That’s what we all need to do more of — the things that bring us joy and a sense of fun! I adopted my brother’s Scottish Terrier and brought her into a household with the cat who rules! I’m having so much fun and am being so entertained by the interactions that my deep writing funk no longer bothers me at all. I know it too shall pass, and meanwhile, I need to take the dog outside for the umpty-seventh time today (which exercises me, something I really need).

    • fpdorchak says:

      That’s great, Patricia! We all needs diversions from that which we do all the time. As much as I love writing, I have absolutely no problems getting away from it when I need to!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  4. trfunke says:

    This is such a true adaption of the writer’s journey, if he or she hangs in there for the long haul. I, too, am curious about that short story, but I know exactly what you mean. I’m sitting on a gold mine of good material that I can’t use right now for similar reasons.

    • fpdorchak says:

      It’s an interesting point in life, because it really feels that not so long ago I was trying so hard to get to my future where I would have stuff out there. And now I’m here…not exactly as I saw it (for whatever reasons—metaphysically speaking), but who cares? I’m here…stuff’s out there. This is Future Me…and I really am happy. Happy with what I’ve got out there and done with my writing. This is how the Energy of my life flowed…and is flowing.

      As to the story…we’ll see what the future holds. :-]

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Teresa!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.