Entombed…Resurrection…Unbound….

These prose poems I did for Hallowe’en in 2012. I tried to do something every week for that month that year, trying to get into the Hallowe’en spirit, and I did—and it was fun! When I created these, I’d challenged myself to write one a week “off the cuff,” with no planning. I had a basic idea of what I’d wanted…thinking back to my favorite mummy movies and lore…and sat down once a week for three weeks and just wrote what came out of me….

Instead of again serializing these, here are all three of them together.

 

Entombed

No Passing

No Time

Only Now…

A life to painfully pine

 

No cherished sound

Nary a precious peep

No Human touch

Only deeply troubled sleep

 

The weight of antiquity

Crush of stone

Wrapped and tightly bound

I, forever alone

 

Profane death

Ancient desiccation

I eternally atone

A heinous transgression

 

Within Ba enslaved

My Ka everlastingly to pay

Darkness, imprisonment

This tomb within which I lay

 

Dreams of lands

Dreams of much

Freedom, exotic scents

A silken, tender touch

 

Flesh against flesh

Heart against heart

My love for another

Us One, torn apart

 

Dreams of wind

Sounds it makes

Through breezy palms

Its balmy path takes

 

Forever to dream

Forever to yearn

Forever to remember

This anguish I’ve earned

 

There is only now!

My life to pine!

Oh, agonized passing!

Eternally, endless Time….

 

Resurrection

Weight of Silence

Density of Confinement

Eternal damnation

My immortal pronouncement

 

Unable to breathe

Never to move

Yet comes from above

Abominations to prove!

 

I stir!

 

I rise!

 

I push off centuries

Against all choice

I am awakened

Strange magic, strange voice

 

Resistant to movement

I exit my sentence

That into which I awaken

A land of no acquaintance

 

I go where I know not

Without consideration

I go where I’m beckoned

Imprisoned, another iteration

 

Bound as I am

In ancient tatters I hang

Movement I am bidden

Insulting life that once sang

 

The shuffling the dragging

The unyielding yoke

To others am I sent

And commanded to choke

 

Heavy my heart!

Bloody my tide!

Forced to take lives

To which I have strived!

 

Control I have not

Miss my dreams and my sleep

Thee who awaken me

I wish not company keep

 

Their bidding I do

But know here, know true

Thee who has clutched me

I am coming for you.

Unbound

Tortured and aching

Relentless my quest

The bidding of another

Endless unrest!

 

As I shuffle and I let

This blood that I spill

Stronger I grow

More powerful my will

 

I cannot continue!

Unrelenting murder!

My captor has controlled me

But this time no longer!

 

He commands, he directs

I do, I turn

But this time is different

His dominion I spurn!

 

He shouts and invokes

Fights and he strikes

But in the end crippled

My might is what frights

 

I dispatch as I have

To all dead before him

Then turn to a flame

And insert my forelimb

 

I cannot return

Now free from possession

To once again anguish

In my ancient obsession

 

I give up my being

Once and for all

By my own hand do it

Oh, will of gods befall

 

Free!

 

I am released!

Into the afterlife fly

I find my true love

And in her arms

Die.

 

Related Posts

About fpdorchak

Speculative and paranormal fiction author. Please check out my website: https://www.fpdorchak.com/. Thank you for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Leisure, Metaphysical, Reincarnation, Short Story, Spooky, To Be Human, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Entombed…Resurrection…Unbound….

  1. Karen Lin says:

    It’s such a great idea for keeping the juices flowing – a commitment…like that. Our oldest, Zach (whose haircut Laura liked :)) did it with his graphic design. New one every day. What a great idea for creative. http://createathingeveryday.tumblr.com/
    If we all could have the devotion and motivation and discipline to write as regularly as you, there would be more great books/art out there.

  2. Pingback: Etched in Stone | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  3. Paul says:

    Your poem is making me wish they’d make a new mummy movie, Frank! Albeit one that’s in the spirit of Karloff and Lee …

  4. Pingback: Bone and Stone | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  5. Pingback: Tail Gunner | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  6. Pingback: Clowns | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  7. Pingback: Garden of the Gods | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  8. Pingback: The Girl Who Chased Gargoyles | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  9. Pingback: Am I Having Too Much Fun? | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  10. Pingback: Snow Paper | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  11. Pingback: Crypt of Vampyres | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  12. Pingback: Nightborders | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  13. Pingback: Red Hands | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  14. Pingback: Short Story Listing | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.