Night Driving

Night Driving (© F. P. Dorchak, January 28, 2017)

Night Driving (© F. P. Dorchak, January 28, 2017)

I love driving at night.

I’d written a post about a particular night drive I’d taken years ago, when I was 27. It was a mystical cross-country drive I’d taken solo. My last such solo drive was from Wyoming to Colorado in November of 2015.

I’d taken this photo this past weekend as my wife and I returned from visiting family up north of us and were driving through Denver. I love the look and feel of this image. The lights of the buildings in the distance. Love the in-the-moment perspective.

Love the dark.

I love how my thoughts turn waaay inward in the night. I love the feel of the road. The passing of the night as I (we) plow on through it…are enveloped by it. Love how the imagination comes out in full force in the absence of light. Wonder where those lights in the distance are coming from and what’s going on at or around them.

Don’t get me wrong—I love daylight and all things associated with it! I’m not a Goth anything…I am a fan of both light and darkness. But…

Yeah, I really love driving at night….

Related Articles

About fpdorchak

Speculative and paranormal fiction author. Please check out my website: https://www.fpdorchak.com/. Thank you for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Fun, Leisure, Metaphysical, Photography, To Be Human and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Night Driving

  1. Karen Lin says:

    I like night driving, when the weather is good enough that the lines are easy to see. I also love day driving in the rain if people around me are driving at a reasonable speed.

  2. Pingback: Frozen Branches | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  3. Pingback: Wind and Snow | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  4. Pingback: The WYO Road Trip | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.