Snowplow

"Snowfall," © F. P. Dorchak, December 18, 2016.

“Snowfall,” © F. P. Dorchak, December 18, 2016.

As I sat in the darkness before our lit Christmas tree this morning, drinking my “coffee drink” of “some coffee added to milk,” wife still in bed, I heard a familiar sound that always gets me in a good way: the sound of a snowplow scraping down the road.

When I was a kid growing up in the Adirondack Mountains of upstate New York, when we used to get tons of snow between October and, well, June…I used to be awakened in the early morning hours by the sound of the snowplow running down on Route 30, directly in front of our house. My bed was directly under my window, so I’d pop up and look outside for the flashing lights of the plow. Many times, for some reason I never figured out, it would stop at the edge of our property, between our home and the Ohmann’s, and just sit there. And I’d just hang out, soaking in all the cool atmosphere of the dark, the snow, the snowplow and its lights. I loved that perhaps only me and that snowplow driver were the only ones up at this hour….

All that flooded back to me this morning, as I heard this morning’s snowplow scraping down our street. I didn’t have my camera at-hand (dang it) so I just ran to our window and hung out as it came by then back down the street, its lights also subtly illuminating the early morning darkness, and I again mused that maybe…perhaps…it was again just me and that snowplow driver being the only ones awake at this hour on this section of street, on this frigid, snowy December morning….

About fpdorchak

Speculative and paranormal fiction author. Please check out my website: https://www.fpdorchak.com/. Thank you for stopping by!
This entry was posted in To Be Human and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Snowplow

  1. Wendy Brydge says:

    This is such a nice musing, Frank, that I almost hate to be a downer, but at my house, the only thoughts the snow plow ever brought is “there’s now a huge pile of snow in the end of my driveway that’s too deep to drive through, and someone’s going to have to go clean it out!”

  2. Karen Lin says:

    Snow plow? What’s that? Out where we live, we’re last on the list for plows and repairs. But I do remember the sound from growing up in Missouri.

  3. Pingback: Bird Watching | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  4. Pingback: Photography | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  5. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  6. Pingback: Happy Monday! | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  7. Pingback: White Rock – Garden of the Gods – and Time | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  8. Pingback: Bobcat! | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  9. Pingback: My First Nikon Camera Class | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  10. Pingback: Night Driving | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  11. Pingback: Frozen Branches | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  12. Pingback: Wind and Snow | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  13. Pingback: The WYO Road Trip | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.