Update on WIP: Out For Proofing

Wailing Loon (2013, F. P. Dorchak and Lon Kirschner)

Wailing Loon (2013, F. P. Dorchak and Lon Kirschner)

After seven months of rework, I’ve completed going back through my current Work-in-Progress (WIP) and sent it out for my beta reader/proofreader review. I’ve also sent it off to my “Cover Guy,” Lon Kirschner, so he can read it and come up with the cover (Lon is one of the rare breed who actually reads all books he does covers for).

To me, it’s a powerful love story written with strong sexual elements. I wouldn’t necessarily call it “erotic fiction,” per se, as I’ve mentioned before…but can see how it could definitely be classified as such. Especially since I even subtitle it “an erotic tale of nonphysical love.”

Now, whether it succeeds or not will be interesting as I get my comments back from my readers. Hopefully the content justifies the story.

I’m looking to get comments back by the end of May, expect to incorporate them within a month or so, then get the manuscript formatted, which can take a couple weeks, depending on Pam’s schedule—but she already has me “penciled in” for the summer. So…if this passes muster…this should see the light of day around a June-ish/July timeframe. I’m also looking to do this as an e-book. If the sales do well, I’ll also publish as a softcover trade.

What’s next?

Well, that will be it for drawer-manuscripts (those manuscripts written and hidden away in drawers)…I mean, I have several other manuscripts (mss) I haven’t published, but I really want to get back to something new…and that means a couple years of work. It takes me on average about 2 1/2 years to complete a new manuscript. However, if my current novel sells well, I’m very interested in publishing some of my short stories…but that’s only if the income will carry the outflow of publishing said book.

And none of this considers promotion!

Yes, I plan on doing more promotion…and am trying to work up some ideas there. Hard to do when you have a more-than-full-time day job. So, if any of you have speaking engagements or signings you think might be a good idea for this or any of my other work, feel free to contact me, at fpdorchak at fpdorchak dot com. I can do telephone interviews, blog interviews, guest blogs, et cetera.

So, while you’re waiting for the final product, feel free to check out my Pinterest site for this WIP, to load up on some of the imagery this novel has to offer.

I thank all who have been supporting my (and other indie author) work—thank you all so damned much! Even “on your own” it takes a TEAM to publish a book! And part of that team is the readership!

Otherwise, it’s a return to more blogging and new writing!

Related Articles

 

About fpdorchak

Speculative and paranormal fiction author. Please check out my website: https://www.fpdorchak.com/. Thank you for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Metaphysical, Reincarnation, To Be Human, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Update on WIP: Out For Proofing

  1. Wendy Brydge says:

    Wishing you much luck with the new book, Frank!

  2. Karen Lin says:

    Boy you whipped through that erotic novel fast… a quicky! Ha!

  3. Pingback: You-Turns | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  4. Pingback: It’s Been So Freeing… | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  5. Pingback: The Man With No Name | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  6. Pingback: Update on WIP: First Comments In! | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  7. Pingback: Update on WIP: Second Set of Comments In! | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  8. Pingback: The Pink Elephant in the Room | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  9. Pingback: Voice–An Erotic Tale of Nonphysical Love | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  10. Pingback: Starting A New Novel | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  11. Pingback: Voice Available Through Amazon Pre-Order! | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  12. Pingback: Canceled Voice Pre-Order | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  13. Pingback: Faux Metaphysical Interview with F. P. Dorchak, Author of Voice | Reality Check

  14. Pingback: A Faux Interview with F. P. Dorchak, author of VOICE | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  15. Pingback: Voice—What Is My Genre? | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  16. Pingback: Full Voice Cover! | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  17. Pingback: Voice is Released! | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  18. Pingback: Voice Is Released! | Reality Check

  19. Pingback: Voice Delivered… | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  20. Pingback: Incredible Voice Review! | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  21. Pingback: Sex in Fiction | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  22. Pingback: Voice – Free Review Copies! | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.